Zonta Club of Ottawa, Canada

2021 ZCO CA’s Award Winners

Thank you for joining us for our 1st Virtual Awards Evening
Zonta Club of Ottawa, Canada’s 20th Annual Awards Celebration

Congratulations to all our 2021 Zonta Club of Ottawa, Canada Award Winners!


Young Women in Public Affairs Award

Committee Chair: Valerie Hume; & Members: Shirley Mack, Lauren Nagel.

Young Women in Public Affairs Award: Since 1990, the club has given an award to recognize pre-university and pre-college female students who are committed to leadership in public policy, government and/or volunteer organizations.

YWPA winner: Ivy Le

Jean M. Coon (Humanitarian) Award

Committee Chair: Valerie Hume & Members: Shirley Mack, Lauren Nagel.

Jean M. Coon (Humanitarian) Award: Given to a high school student who demonstrates exceptional humanitarian community service.

Jean M. Coon Winner: Tasneem Alnahhas

*Tasneem Alnahhas has won at the Zonta District 2 Level

Mature University Students Bursary Award (U-Ottawa & Carleton-U)

Committee Chair: Valerie Knowles; & Members: Annegret Uhthoff, Sylvie Begin, Denise Esdon.

Mature University Students Award (U-Ottawa & Carleton University):

Typically two bursaries are given to students who have had to interrupt their studies for formal education for medical, financial or other reasons, and are returning to complete their programs, this year we have three winners.

#1. Mature Student Winner from Carleton University: Julie Cho

#2. Mature Student Winner from Carleton University: Linda Cho

#3. Mature Student Winner from U-Ottawa: Joseline Seumen Nkouatchah

Jane M. Klausman (Women in Business) Award

Committee Chair: Renuka Gamage & Members: Sophia Wright & Cindy O’Neil

Jane M. Klausman (Women in Business) Award: This Scholarship is awarded annually to a woman pursuing an undergraduate or master’s degree in business management at a university in the National Capital Region (NCR).

Jane M. Klausman Award winner: Josée Lachance Carleton University

New Immigrant Woman (Education) Award

Committee Chair: Prem Grainger & Members: Christina Hasley, Joanne Williams.

New Immigrant Woman (Education) Award: The award is given to a newcomer who is a resident of Ottawa/Gatineau, is a single mother and is raising a family while working on her own education at any level, this year we have two winners.

#1. New Immigrant Award winner: Gloria Rwobahirya

#2. New Immigrant Award winner: Pegah Younesi

Theatre Arts ‘Drama’ Bursary Award

Committee Chair: Cindy O’Neil; & Members: Paula Zoubek, Val Knowles & Prem Grainger

Theatre Arts Bursary Award: Scholarships are awarded annually to women in the NCR who are currently enrolled in a post- secondary theatre program. These awards enable talented and qualified young women to achieve their professional goals, this year we have 2 winners.

#1. Theatre Arts Award winner: Caity Smyck

#2. Theatre Arts Award winner: Ashley Barnes

Scroll to top