Home > 2019 Award Winners

2019 Zonta Club of Ottawa Awards & Winners

Young Women in Public Affairs:

Since 1990, the club has given an award that recognizes pre-university and pre-college female students who are committed to leadership in public policy, government and/or volunteer organizations.
Winner: Sydney Keyamo

Jean M. Coon Award:
Given to a high school student who demonstrates exceptional humanitarian community service.
Winner: Anjana Balachandran

Mature Student Bursary:
Two bursaries are given to students who have had to interrupt their studies or formal education for medical, financial or other reasons, & are returning to complete their program(s).
Winners: Alaina Woolfrey (University of Ottawa), and Alexandra Hurst (Carleton University)

New Immigrant Award:
The award is given to a newcomer who is a resident of Ottawa/Gatineau, is a single mother and is raising a family while working on her own education at any level.
Winners: Rachana Champaneri & Anisa Rahim Ali

Jane M. Klausman
Women in Business Scholarship: This Scholarship is awarded annually to a woman pursuing an undergraduate or master’s degree in business management at a university in the National Capital Region, and Kingston, On.
Winner: Ha Nhu My Nguyen

List of 2019 JMK recipients:   2019 JMK Recipients

Theatre Arts Award:
Scholarships are awarded annually to women in the National Capital Region who are currently enrolled in a post- secondary theatre program. These awards enable talented & qualified young women to achieve their professional goals.
Winners: Ashley Barnes, Alexis Scott and Leah Morris